Laura Griffin is back with Flight, Book 2 in The Texas Murder Files series, a romantic suspense that will keep you glued to the pages with its twists and turns


Review of Flight

Laura Griffin is back for more mystery-solving and suspense with the second installment of The Texas Murder Files series.  The first book, Hidden, was one of my favorite romantic suspense reads last year, so I couldn’t wait to read more of this series. 

I truly enjoy Griffin’s storytelling, especially the way she blends the suspenseful elements with the romance so that it doesn’t feel like an afterthought.

Flight Summary

Miranda Rhodes, sister of the journalist heroine in book one, is suffering from a severe case of workplace burnout as a crime scene photographer and seeks refuge in a coastal town.  

While working as a nature photographer, she stumbles upon the scene of a murder which leads her down a twisty road with the local police force—namely the rugged, hunky, slightly workaholic Detective Joel Breda—and back into crime scenes, figuring out clues to the confusing case, and finding herself in danger a time or two.

Miranda and Joel make a great team solving the case, but their time trying to delay the inevitable after hours is really enjoyable, too. 

Low Drama, High Suspense Romance

Miranda is a realistic heroine and makes a great love interest for Joel who needs to fall in love with a woman who gets his hours and work ethic.  

Their journey to happiness isn’t without trials, but everything feels authentic and without unnecessary drama.

The technical aspects of the murder mystery kept me flipping the pages and Griffin once again proves that she knows her stuff.  From photography to exotic birds to social media influencer life, Flight is filled with easy-to-understand facts and realistic jargon. 

I love a suspenseful mystery that keeps me glued to my Kindle with every new twist and turn.  Not being able to guess the ending is my favorite way to judge a book like this, and I’m happy to report that I didn’t figure out the villain ahead of time. 

After reading Hidden and Flight, I’m looking forward to reading Griffin’s next book, Last Seen Alone!

Thank you for the advanced copy of FLIGHT by Laura Griffin.  All opinions are my own.

Want more? Check out these posts!

About Laura Griffin

Laura Griffin is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than twenty books. She is a two-time RITA Award winner, and her book Desperate Girls was named one of the Best Books of 2018 by Publishers Weekly. Booklist magazine calls Laura's popular Tracers series "the perfect mix of suspense and romance."

About the Book


date published : March 30, 2021

publisher : Berkley

pages : 348

audiobook narrator: Teri Clark Linden

audiobook length: 9 hrs, 16 min

Laura Griffin is back with Flight, Book 2 in The Texas Murder Files series—a romantic suspense that will keep you glued to the pages with its twists and turns

When former forensic photographer Miranda Rhoads moves to the seaside town of Lost Beach, she’s decided to make her living as a wildlife photographer and put crime scenes behind her. But her plans are quickly upended when one morning, she comes across a couple sleeping in a canoe, entwined in an embrace. Looking closer, she realizes the man and woman aren’t asleep – they’ve been murdered.

Detective Joel Breda sets out to find answers – not only about the unidentified victims in the marshy death scene, but also about the aloof and beautiful photographer who seems to know more about his investigation than he does.

As they begin to unravel the motivation of a merciless serial killer, Miranda and Joel must race against the clock to make an arrest before the killer can find them first.

Buy this book

Note: Clicking links on this site will take you to the retailer’s purchase page.

Totally Bex is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get on the list!